The Campbell School was built in 1885 and operated as a school until 2004. It was sold in 2009 along with 2 other iconic structures in Sandusky to Dr. Richard Koonce for Five Dollars ($5.00). At the time of his auction purchase, Dr. Koonce had a vision of using these buildings for the good of the community. Campbell School was chosen for the location of an afterschool program for area youth. What started in 2009 in one refurbished classroom with six (6) kids has grown into a full-scale program utilizing most of the building and accommodating up to 100 students. In the summer Nehemiah hosts over 125 kids in its summer camp program.

The Nehemiah Board and staff are committed to growing our Center and its programming to reach as many kids and their families as possible with the resources we have available.  

Nehemiah receives no government funding. All of our operating capital comes from generous gifts from committed donors and Community Foundations. God has blessed Nehemiah with many resources and gifts along the way, such as our beautiful historic building, the financial support of committed supporters, and the incalculable hours of time spent by the wonderful individuals to make the Nehemiah Center what it is: an opportunity to change children’s lives and make a difference in our community, all for the glory of God!